Professors & Speakers

Raymond Ch'ien Kuo-fung

Dr. Raymond Ch'ien Kuo-fung - Chairman Hang Seng Bank and MTR

Dr. Raymond Ch'ien Kuo-fung was appointed Non-Executive Chairman of MTR in July 2003.

He has been a member of the Board since 1998. Dr. Ch'ien is chairman of CDC Corporation, as well as chairman and a director respectively of its subsidiaries, Inc. and CDC Software Corporation (listed on NASDAQ effective from 6 August 2009).

He is also chairman and independent non-executive director of Hang Seng Bank Limited, as well as non-executive chairman of HSBC Private Equity (Asia) Limited. He serves on the boards of The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited, Convenience Retail Asia Limited, The Wharf (Holdings) Limited, Swiss Reinsurance Company Limited and China Resources Power Holdings Company Limited (from 22 April 2010). He is also a director of Hong Kong Mercantile Exchange Limited (from 1 July 2009). Dr. Ch'ien is chairman of the Hong Kong/European Union Business Cooperation Committee and a member of the Standing Committee of the Tianjin Municipal Committee of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference.

In addition, Dr. Ch'ien is the honorary president and past chairman of the Federation of Hong Kong Industries. He was a member of the Executive Council of Hong Kong, then under British Administration, from 1992 to 1997, a member of the Executive Council of the Hong Kong SAR from 1 July 1997 to June 2002 and chairman of the Advisory Committee on Corruption of the Independent Commission Against Corruption from 1 January 1998 to 31 December 2006. Dr. Ch'ien was appointed a Justice of the Peace in 1993.

He was made a Commander in the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire in 1994 and awarded the Gold Bauhinia Star medal in 1999.

In 2008, he was conferred the honour of Chevalier de l'Ordre du Merite Agricole of France. Dr. Ch'ien received a doctoral degree in economics from the University of Pennsylvania in 1978 and became a Trustee of the University in 2006. He was a non-executive director of Inchcape plc (up to 14 May 2009).