Professors & Speakers

Frederick Ma Si-hang

Professor Frederick Ma Si-hang

Chairman of MTR Corporation Limited

Professor Frederick Ma Si-hang was appointed as Non-executive Chairman of MTR since 1 January 2016. He joined the Board as an Independent Non-executive Director in July 2013 and was re-designated as a Non-executive Director on 30 November 2015.

Professor Ma has extensive experience in banking and financial sector. He is currently an independent non-executive director of FWD Group, a director of Husky Energy Inc. and a non-executive director of COFCO Corporation. Professor Ma was an independent non-executive director and the chairman of the audit and compliance committee of Agricultural Bank of China Limited (until 12 May 2016), a non-executive director of China Mobile Communications Corporation (until 2 February 2016), an independent non-executive director and the chairman of the audit committee of Aluminum Corporation of China Limited (until 29 December 2015) and an independent non-executive director of Hutchison Port Holdings Management Pte. Limited (until 1 December 2015).

He was previously the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, and the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development. He is a member of the International Advisory Council of China Investment Corporation and the Global Advisory Council of the Bank of America.

Professor Ma is currently an Honorary Professor of the School of Economics and Finance at The University of Hong Kong, a Professor of Finance Practice of the Institute of Advanced Executive Education at The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, and an Honorary Professor of Business Administration at The Chinese University of Hong Kong.

He holds a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) degree majoring in economics and history from The University of Hong Kong. Professor Ma was conferred the Honorary Doctor of Social Sciences by Lingnan University in October 2014.

He was awarded the Gold Bauhinia Star medal in 2009 and was appointed a Justice of the Peace in 2010.